1 Jan 2016

Derry name team for McKenna Cup opener

Damian Barton has named his Derry team for Sunday's McKenna Cup clash with Antrim (Owenbeg 2pm).

Antrim won't be naming their starting lineup until just before throw in.

Newcomers Karl McKaigue and Joe Morgan come into the Derry defence with Magherafelt's Shane Heavron listed in attack after some impressive performances during the summer.

Other new faces in the squad include Lavey's goalkeeper Ciaron O'Boyle, Magherfelt defender Peter Quinn, Claudy's Shane McGahon, Chistopher 'Sammy' Bradley of Slaughtneil, Shane Mulgrew of Ballinascreen and Eoghan Rua player Gavin McWilliams.

Brendan Rogers (Queens), Niall Toner (St Mary's), Brian Og McGilligan (St Mary's) and Cailean O'Boyle (UUJ) are playing for their universities in the competition.

With Fermanagh visiting Owenbeg for the beginning of the NFL on 31st January, the next three weeks will give Derry a chance to get a look at players and begin their preparations for  the visit of Tyrone to Celtic Park on 22nd May in the Ulster Championship.

Meanwhile Derry hurlers will play Donegal on Saturday (1.30 The Dub, Belfast) in the Conor McGurk Tournament.

Derry Team (McKenna Cup v Antrim)
1. Eoin McNicholl (Glenullin)
2. Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil)
3. Dermot McBride (Ballinascreen)
4. Joe Morgan (Kilrea)
5. Liam McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
6. Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil)
7. Daniel Heavron (Magherafelt)
8. Emmet Bradley (Glen)
9. Conor McAtamney (Swatragh)
10. Ciaran McFaul (Glen)
11. James Kielt (Kilrea)
12. Enda Lynn (Greenlough)
13. Emmett McGuckin (Magherafelt)
14. Ryan Bell (Ballinderry)
15. Shane Heavron (Magherafelt)
16. Ciaron O’Boyle (Lavey)
17. Mark Lynch (Banagher)
18. Shane McGahon (Claudy)
19. Conor Murphy (Dungiven)
20. Niall Loughlin (Greenlough)
21. Shane Mulgrew (Ballinascreen)
22. Gavin McWilliams (Eoghan Rua)
23. Oisin Duffy (Foreglen)
24. Peter Quinn (Magherafelt)
25. Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil)
26. Neil Forester (Steelstown)

No comments:

Post a comment