20 Mar 2016

Ulster League Final - Glenullin 0-17 Coalisland 2-10

Pic - Ruairi Boylan
A storming comeback including seven points from Paddy Bradley brought Glenullin a third Ulster League title.

Glenullin trailed 2-8 to 0-8 at half time, with Stephen McNally 1-3 and a Dermot Thortnton penalty doing most of the damage.

Cormac O'Hagan curled over a free from an acute angle early in the second half and it looked like the Tyrone men would push on.

It was the opposite.  With Chrissy Dempsey battling gamely at midfield, Dermot O'Kane and Neil McNicholl chipping in with frees Glenullin settled into the game.

Eoin Bradley started to have an influence on the game and with Paddy and Ruairi Bradley always showing for the ball inside, Glenullin kept chipping away at Coalisland's lead.

Paddy Bradley levelled matters and in injury time kicked the winning point.

There was still time for the Fianna to save the game but as Stephen McNally headed off goalwards John O'Kane dived out and pulled him down by the ankle. 

It was a black card but it proved worthwhile as Cormac O'Hagan failed to score from the free and Glenullin hung on for a 0-17 to 2-10 victory.

Glenullin: Cathal Óg Mullan, Mark O'Kane, Fergal McIlvar, Daniel O'Kane, John O’Kane, Caolan McNeill, Donal McNicholl, Traglach Bradley, Chrissy Dempsey (Garvagh)(0-2),  Neil McNicholl (0-2f), Chris Dempsey (Aghadowey) (0-1), Dermot O'Kane (0-4, 3f), Ruairi Bradley (0-1), Paddy Bradley (0-7 4f), Eoin Bradley.
Sub: Conor Rafferty for Chrissy Dempsey (Aghadowey)

Coalisland: Johnny Curran, Conal Lyons, Louis O’Neill, Shane Hughes, Eoghan Hampsey, Niall Kerr, Jason Carberry, Stephen McNally (1-3), Peter McGahan (0-1), Brian Toner (0-2 1f), Plunkett Kane (0-2), Philip Toner, Cathaoir Quinn, Cormac O’Hagan (0-1f), Dermot Thornton (1-1, 1-0pen).
Subs: Gerard Toner for Kerr (BC), Sean Corr for Quinn, Niall Fox for Carberry.

Referee: Enda McFeely (Donegal)

No comments:

Post a comment